WHAT DO YOU DO AFTER YOU HAVE COMPROMISED

HAVE YOU LOST YOUR BEARING AND FALLEN AWAY FROM GOD?

The Bible tells us in Psalms 119:9-11:

Wherewithal shall a young man cleanse his way? by taking heed thereto according to thy word.

With my whole heart have I sought thee:  O let me not wander from thy commandments.

Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.

GET BACK INTO GOD’S WORD

The Bible is our compass when we have lost our spiritual  bearing, when we don’t know where true north is,  when we need a map to see where we are and where we’re headed:

Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.                (Psalms 119:105)

SEEK GOD IN PRAYER

Don’t wait another moment; deal with your situation TODAY and get yourself right with God.

Seek ye the Lord while He may be found, call upon Him while He is near:  (Isa 55:6)

“behold, NOW is the accepted time; behold, NOW is the day of salvation.” (2Cor 6:2)

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.  (1John 1:9)

A BACKSLIDER/COMPROMISER’S PRAYER

King David after committing adultery with Bathsheba and having her husband Uriah killed (2 Sam 11), David repented and prayed this prayer:

Psalm 51:10-17

10 Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me.

11 Cast me not away from thy presence; and take not thy holy spirit from me.

12 Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with thy free spirit.

13 Then will I teach transgressors thy ways; and sinners shall be converted unto thee.

14 Deliver me from bloodguiltiness, O God, thou God of my salvation: and my tongue shall sing aloud of thy righteousness.

15 O Lord, open thou my lips; and my mouth shall shew forth thy praise.

16 For thou desirest not sacrifice; else would I give it: thou delightest not in burnt offering.

17 The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit: a broken and a contrite heart, O God, thou wilt not despise.

WHAT GOD SAYS ABOUT THE BACKSLIDER

Jer 3:22 Return, ye backsliding children, and I will heal your backslidings.   (let us say) Behold, we come unto thee; for thou art the Lord our God.  

We must acknowledge that we have sinned against God and His Word, THEN with help of the Holy Spirit:

Return back to God by 

Repenting of specific sins of commission and omission;

Receive forgiveness and 

Reconciliation unto God once again,  

Renewal of our spirit and be

Restored unto ‘the joy of our salvation’!

REJOICE!  Praise God!

 

About Shofar/Liz

I have a Christian blogsite-'God's Enduring Love' at https://heulu.wordpress.com with 'Words of Encouragement from the Bible and Liz's Journal'. Also, an art blogsite-'Art with Aloha' at http://artwithaloha.wordpress.com 'A Journal About Art and Life. I use acrylic and oil paints, graphite pencils and pen and ink.

Posted on April 24, 2014, in Enduring Love, Hearing From God And His Word and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Please visit my new blog, hope you like it 🙂

    http://ajaytaobotanicalblog.wordpress.com/

    thank you so much 🙂

  2. Thank you for your comments. How did you link to my post? The answer to your question is a decidedly affirmative if we concur that backsliding involves any or all of the following: committing sin, disobeying God, and not accepting the Bible as the whole counsel and inerrant Word of God, the authority by which we should live and serve God in our lives. We need to confront the sin in our lives and repent or the following could be our fate: Mt: 7:21-23 Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven. Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works? And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity. These scriptures speak of Christians who ‘missed the mark’ by compromising and backsliding. 1 Tim 4 speaks of those who ‘shall depart from the faith’. . . in vs 16, “Take heed unto thyself, and unto the doctrine; continue in them: for in doing this thou shalt both save thyself,and them that hear thee.” 2 Tim 3:1-5 describes Christians who have backslidden. Picture of the present apostasy of the church.

  1. Pingback: End Times Prophecy Headlines: May 6, 2014 | End Times Prophecy Report

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.