SHALL I OR SHALL I NOT???

SEE  https://ebible.com/questions/1735-should-a-christian-attend-the-wedding-of-a-gay-couple?mlgq=1&rpt_k=email_weekly_1408406400&rpt_m=clicks&rpt_uid=204135

 A TOUGH DECISION TO MAKE!

A TOUGH DECISION TO MAKE!

About Shofar/Liz

I have a Christian blogsite-'God's Enduring Love' at https://heulu.wordpress.com with 'Words of Encouragement from the Bible and Liz's Journal'. Also, an art blogsite-'Art with Aloha' at http://artwithaloha.wordpress.com 'A Journal About Art and Life. I use acrylic and oil paints, graphite pencils and pen and ink.

Posted on August 23, 2014, in Hearing From God And His Word, Teachings and Exhortations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Liz:

    Good for you to post this. Believers need not flee from ‘difficult topics,’ yet some would say it is not hard at all, ‘just don’t go.’

    The article was pretty fair I thought, but one thing was missing, perhaps it was mentioned but i missed it, and that would be whether the gay couple knew of the believer’s position on same sex ‘marriage.’

    If so, then being invited would be a compliment of sorts, giving testimony to the fact that we should be friends of sinners.

    On the other hand, how many believers go to the baptisms of infants without a thought; there are many things like this, and I think you would agree, that in this, ‘let every man be persuaded in his own mind.’

    One could go to something like this to honor a friendship, while still go on record (if . somebody asks) saying ‘Certainly I do not approve.’

    God is honored, and man is not insulted.

    God bless friend

    • John, thank you for your comments; you are too kind.
      ‘let every man be persuaded in his own mind.’ This is THE KEY. If one says ‘Certainly I do not approve,’ then my question is whether or not s/he would be comfortable attending such a celebration. I would rather insult man than offend God in this case by excusing myself from the event than to consider myself a hypocrite by my attendance. I owe no one an explanation but God Himself to whom I must account for my actions. It is a TOUGH issue, not one that I am faced with at this time, but I have a good friend struggling with this at the moment. She is not ‘persuaded in her own mind’ and neither can she say ‘Certainly I do not approve.’ That is a difficult position to be in.
      Shalom, my dear friend.
      ~Liz

Leave a Reply

