Is It Possible to Lose One’s Identity?

What’s Going On Anyway?!  Who wrote this post?  Who is commenting now?

SHOFAR has 2 blogs.  SHOFAR comes from the name of my eBook- ‘Sounding the Shofar- Exhortations for the End Times’.

This is my blog:   ‘God’s Enduring Love’   https://heulu.wordpress.com/  

This is the other blog:  ‘God’s Hidden Nuggets for the Endtimes- Revealing Truths From the Word of God’  http://drgoldsite.wordpress.com/  See his ‘About’.

We’re not blog savvy in the administrative aspects, but have been fortunate to have kind people to advise us like Rommel,http://thesophomoreslump2.com/who told me to ‘Put your personal links with your gravatar’.  That was MOST HELPFUL!   If you’re new to blogging, you must do this to have anyone get to your blog posts!

Thank you to Shekinah, http://servehiminthewaiting.wordpress.com/ who introduced the ‘kitchen sink’ to us, the second row in the Tool Bar.  We LOVE the new looks to our posts and have since learned how to use different size headings, color and a few other features.

I was searching for inspirational Bible verses and found Darrell Creswell, http://darrellcreswell.wordpress.com/ with scriptures in pictures to use on my blog.  Thank you, Darrell for your inspirational stories, too!

Then there’s Robin, http://mychristiancoffeeshop.wordpress.com/ who suggested that I add a Visitor World Map to my side bar.  It’s so easy to do that I haven’t been able to do it yet!  Mainly because there’s the IDENTITY PROBLEM I’m working on right now.  Actually it’s Karen A., http://learn.wordpress.com who’s now trying to get the right names and gravatars to the right HIM and HER blogs!

This is the story behind the present IDENTITY CRISIS:

My partner, Drgold has become the Teacher-Administrator-Missionary and I suppose I am now the retired meteorologist-missionary!

Our gravatars got switched a few days ago and he got my gravatar and became me, and so I lost my identity to Drgold!   He wasn’t happy about that, but it wasn’t my fault.  Actually he no longer had his, but mine instead!  I didn’t do anything when that happened!

We started out with both of us having our own gravatars.  A few months passed and I found out that he was listed as the ‘administrator’ and I was now an ‘editor’.  I have no idea what happened.  I tried to switch it back.  After all, I got both blogs going myself and thought I knew a little more than he did at that time.  

That’s when things began to get messed up.  I lost my gravatar, my user name and email address to Drgold!  Then we ended up using the gravatar that was left, which was Drgold’s gravatar and I managed to give ourselves a new gravatar name that both of us could use.  After that he said, “Just leave everything the way it is.”

But I thought I should have back my own gravatar because whenever either of us commented on posts, we had to remember to sign our names, and sometimes one of us would forget!   Shekinah was the first one to figure out that SHOFAR was 2 people writing 2 distinctively different blogs.  She even mentioned that on one of her posts!

Don’t be surprised if you see Drgold’s gravatar on the bottom of some of my posts saying that he is me- the teacher-administrator-missionary.  We won’t even talk about getting each other’s Notifications and emails!

Well, Karen A. from Word Press Support has been so helpful with her clear instructions and has gotten my gravatar back for me- with my own name!  HURRAH!  And I have back my own email address.

But Drgold still has my gravatar with my name and we’re waiting for him to have his restored so he can make comments on his own blog to his viewers.

I hope you’re not thoroughly bored or confused by now.  We have learned a lot about what caused our problems.  Things ought to improve in a few days because http://learn.wordpress.com has a staff of ‘Happiness Engineers’ as they are aptly called, and we will be HAPPY BLOGGERS once again!

About Shofar/Liz

I have a Christian blogsite-'God's Enduring Love' at https://heulu.wordpress.com with 'Words of Encouragement from the Bible and Liz's Journal'. Also, an art blogsite-'Art with Aloha' at http://artwithaloha.wordpress.com 'A Journal About Art and Life. I use acrylic and oil paints, graphite pencils and pen and ink.

Posted on March 21, 2013, in About My Blog and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Blogging can be a great blessing to both the blogger and the reader, however, the techincal side of things can become a real headache. Praying for you guys that things will get straightened out for you. May the Lord bless you both.

  2. The wordpress Happiness Engineers are wonderful – especially since wordpress is free. For people like me, with NO tech knowledge, they are great.

    • I got my gravatar and profile straightened out, but we’re still working on recovering Drgold’s gravatar! You have a very attractive and professional-looking blog; I like your format and the framed box you use for your key verse/main point. I have LESS tech knowledge than you! I retired from teaching just before the school went computer tech in each class room!
      Blessings,
      ~Liz

Leave a Reply

