‘Long Time Ago In Bethlehem’

(Reblogged and Edited from Jan. 6, 2013 post)

I know Christmas 2012 has come and gone, but I had so much to post last month with many good and bad things going on in America that I left this post in ‘DRAFT’.

This is one of my favorite Christmas songs!   My ukulele group enjoyed  playing ‘Mary’s Boy Child’ with a calypso beat in a medley with ‘Feliz Navidad’ throughout December.

This version has additional lyrics added on to the original words:

“People shouted let everyone know, 

There is hope for everyone to find peace. . .

Oh my Lord,

You sent your Son to save us.”  

Let this be my Christmas 2013 wish for all of you and my New Year’s prayer that we will

FIND PEACE in 2014!

Thank you for viewing the Shofar blogs!

WE LOVE AND APPRECIATE ALL OF YOU WHO HAVE VIEWED

40,000+ POSTS  AS OF DEC. 16, 2013!!!

 https://heulu.wordpress.com

 http://drgoldsite.wordpress.com

Watch the video!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hd4OEsdqCp0

About Shofar/Liz

I have a Christian blogsite-'God's Enduring Love' at https://heulu.wordpress.com with 'Words of Encouragement from the Bible and Liz's Journal'. Also, an art blogsite-'Art with Aloha' at http://artwithaloha.wordpress.com 'A Journal About Art and Life. I use acrylic and oil paints, graphite pencils and pen and ink.

Posted on January 6, 2013, in About My Blog, Created to Praise God, Enduring Love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Peace, one of the priceless, greatest gifts we can give to ourselves, our families, our neighbors, our world who is in a lot of pain and sadness. I wish to preserve the joys and spirit of Christmas all year through. Thanks for sharing a wish that will be a light for all. happy New Year and God bless you and your family.

    • Thanks for visiting my blog, See ‘ Peril on the Highway’ going to Ilocos Norte.

    • I really like what you said:
      “I wish to preserve the joys and spirit of Christmas all year through.” I have a small olive wood creche I got in Israel a few years ago which I keep displayed all year round. When I was teaching, one of the songs we sang was “Christmas is Jesus…
      the day is His alone, Christmas is Jesus, oh let it be known!”

  2. Wish I could have been there to play my beautiful baritone ukelele with you!

    • WOW, a baritone! Yes, I wish you could have played with us!

      My husband plays a tenor uke, but my sister’s husband plays a mellow baritone. Isn’t it surprising that people all over the world love the ukulele?! And you, too! But my favorite instrument is the guitar and next is my Yamaha keyboard. What kind of music do you like to play?

      ‘Uku’ means flea. One version of how the ukulele got its name is that when played with nimble fingers it looks like jumping fleas. My husband picks with nimble fingers. I have no music background and find picking too challenging, but I like to pluck folk or country style and alternate bass strings on the guitar. So we also share a love for music!

      • I haven’t played my baritone in quite awhile. This makes me want to pick it up again. I like the baritone because it is tuned to the top four strings of the guitar, so you don’t have to learn two fingerings. I play folk songs on the uke, classical on my piano ( a Yamaha, too!), Irish music on my whistle, Renaissance music on my recorders, and hymns on my violin. Hymns are in a great range for the violin, but I usually stick to ones with one or two sharps because that’s how the violin is tuned. Now my E-string is broken again, though.

      • Good for you, Susan! You are a talented gal! When or where do you play your music? I played for many school assemblies, then put my guitar away for years. Only recently I began to play for a women’s fellowship and church, but I play at home and with my husband who plays only ukulele. I have violin that was given to me which I have not even opened up the case.

      • Ha-ha, Liz. Good one. I don’t play for anyone but me. My husband likes to listen, too, though why, I can’t figure out. I stink at every instrument I play, but I love it. I actually used to be good on the piano, but that was a long time ago. And I used to play in a recorder consort at church. We did Madrigal dinners before Christmas.

      • Playing for our own enjoyment and/or for the Lord in a private time with Him are the best reasons for having an instrument(s)! I can sing over my missed chords, so no big deal!

  3. Reblogged this on God's Enduring Love and commented:

    Posted this Jan. 6, 2013. Enjoy the song!

  4. Thank you Liz and it is True that Christmas is not a Day, it is a person, Emanuel, God with us and when He is in our hearts He is with us all year, which means we will show His Love to others all year, not just for one day a year.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    • You are certainly correct about Christmas being about Jesus. There is a little kid’s song: “Christmas is Jesus, not trees with colored lights; Christmas is Jesus, not gifts or dazzling lights; Christmas is Jesus, the day is His alone; Christmas is Jesus, OH LET IT BE KNOWN!” The last part, you cup your hands and shout it!!!

      • All the Symbols of Christmas Liz talk about Jesus too that is if our hearts are open to comprehend what they mean (see link below ) We need to teach our Children what they express and as God’s Children what ever our age, we too need to know them.

        Some are in the Scriptures and others are shown in God’s creation but in all things He is seen as a God of Love to those who have eyes to see and ears to hear.

        Christmas Symbols – http://christmasblessings.wordpress.com/2013/12/04/share-with-the-children/

        Christian Love from us both – Anne

      • Beautiful! Thanks so much for sharing about Christmas Symbols. I love the symbols, certain church traditions and customs, seasonal music, etc. that make Christmas even more meaningful. God can be seen in all things, the visible and invisible to our physical eyes, especially to those “who have eyes to see and ears to hear.” \o/

Leave a Reply

