Love Is About Caring

From my earliest memory and up until I became an adult, I don’t ever recall either of my parents saying “I love you” or showing us affection.  It is common in many Asian cultures not to openly show affection so those 3 little, but endearing words, are rarely expressed.  But I know my parents cared and loved my two sisters and me very much.  They showed their love by working very hard to provide for our needs of food, shelter, clothing, and a happy and comfortable home.  There were rules and Sunday church attendance to train us in correct behavior and to reverence God.  There were driver training classes, and curfews to assure our safety when we learned and began to drive.

We lived out in the country.  My dad was a parts supply person for the US Navy, and my mom was a housewife, who had a home dressmaking business, and when we were older she worked as a waitress in a friend’s restaurant at night.  When I was in high school my Mom ran a snack bar and catering service at a private golf course where we would help her out on weekends.  My mom managed to provide me with prom dresses when I was in high school.  My folks provided my cars and gas and supported me through college.  In fact they provided for all of my needs up until the day I got married at 21.  If my earthly parents were so good to me, how much more does God, our Heavenly Father want to bless all of us also?!

God tells us that He loves us and cares for us.  He has a plan for our lives.  He said to Jeremiah,

“Yea, I have loved thee with an everlasting love:  therefore with lovingkindness have I drawn thee.”  (Jer 31:3)

“For I know the plans I have for you, ” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  ( Jer 29:11 NIV)

Jesus taught us to pray,

“Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name.  Thy kingdom come.  Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven. . .”   (Mt 6:10)

It is God’s will that all men are blessed and know Him as God Almighty, our Father in heaven.  His will is that we would love and honor Him, and that we would love one another.

Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind.  This is the first and great commandment.  And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself.”  (Mt 32:37-39)

“Beloved, let us love one another: for love is of God; and everyone that loveth is born of God, and knoweth God.  He that loveth not knoweth not God; for God is love.  In this was manifested the love of God toward us, because that God sent his only begotten Son into the world, that we might live through him.  Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us, and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins.  Beloved, if God so loved us, we ought also to love one another.”  (1 John 4:7-11)

His will is that “all men be saved and come unto the knowledge of the truth.”  (1Tim2:4)

About Shofar/Liz

I have a Christian blogsite-'God's Enduring Love' at https://heulu.wordpress.com with 'Words of Encouragement from the Bible and Liz's Journal'. Also, an art blogsite-'Art with Aloha' at http://artwithaloha.wordpress.com 'A Journal About Art and Life. I use acrylic and oil paints, graphite pencils and pen and ink.

Posted on October 21, 2012, in About Me And My Family, Enduring Love and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I was adopted at age 6 and I didn’t hear those words “I love you” nor did my husband. We have 9 children, 7 are adopted. We were determined that our children would know they were loved equally! All of them hear those words and feel those words! Our adult brothers & sisters will so fluently say “I love you” & hug each other. What a blessing it is to see. So healing – the human touch and so needed.

  2. I never heard those three words, and I never felt them ewither. My theme for the first 22 years of my life was “No one loves me: no one cares” and it was an accurate assessment.

    However, God stepped into my life 8th June 1958 and changed my life completely. His perfect love engulfed me and gave me the ability to love. For the last 54 years my loving (perfect) Father God has been everything I have needed. He gave me (a dedicated manhater) a loving husband and five wonderful sons. Love has filled (and still fills) our home and family – all thanks to our wonderful Redeemer God!

    • God’s love is AMAZING! One of my favorite songs is ‘The Love of God is greater far, Than tongue or pen can ever tell. . .’ Thank you for sharing your beautiful testimony about God’s Enduring Love! God is so GOOD!

Leave a Reply

