Taking A Break From Mac Screen

A health expert recently recommended a break after a 3 hour stint at the computer.  He suggested using a timer to get up once every hour.  That can be easily done for a bathroom break, to get a cold drink, or for some, to look for a small healthy snack, like a fruit.

To ease eye strain one can always adjust the text size to make it larger.  To take my eyes away from the screen periodically, I have found the best diversion ever.  I stop blogging for a few minutes to watch 3 fancy tail rainbow male guppies, 3 female, 2 recently birthed baby fish, a snail, and a tiny shrimp who may come out of hiding.  Besides there are small water plants, including water lilies that seem to grow overnight and often have tiny flowers!  The small aquarium sits on the table where I usually blog on my laptop.  Looking away from the computer helps to exercise the eye muscles and ease eye strain.

But better yet, get up and move around EVERY HOUR!  Take a break from your computer and water those house plants, finish your breakfast dishes or straighten the pillows on your sofa, THEN jump back on your computer!

By the way, this is my 5th consecutive post with the WordPress Weekly Writing Challenge; I’m done being challenged.  I’ll be ‘taking a break from my Mac screen!

This is actually a small 6×6 aquarium that sits on our large dining table where I use my MacBook Pro.

 

 

 

About Shofar

Retired Teacher/Administrator, Christian missionary. Enjoy playing ukulele and guitar, oil painting, swimming and snorkeling, travel photography. Author of 'Sounding the Shofar-Exhortations for the End Times' eBook published Jan. 2012 available at Amazon.com or find it in Side Bar 'From Journal and Shofar eBook.'

Posted on October 12, 2012, in About My Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I truly wanted to post something every day, but this does not seem to be a season of life that allows for as much writing as I’d like! Good job on sticking with it! Your fish are a beautiful way to take a break, and they remind me of how much my little A. loves to look at the fish tank at L.’s school. I should probably take a screen break, myself!

    • I appreciate your comments. Can’t say that I would do that again real soon. Family comes first, and before you know it, the kids will become more independent, freeing some of your time! Can you get a couple of small fish for little A.? My youngest grand daughter told me that the tiny fish ‘hide’ near the plants at the top of the water ‘because their mother might eat them.” That’s what she had learned somewhere. Watching snail behavior is interesting, too. . .

      • My kids would probably enjoy having fish; we do have a 13-year old cat, and I’m not sure what his take on the whole thing would be…something to consider, though! One of A.’s favorite creatures to look for in the school tank is the urchin. I think she can’t decide whether she likes it or fears it!

  2. YUP! I do this. I don’t stay put looking at the computer for a long time. Most people complain about commercial breaks… but really, without it, you’d be force to prolong your eyes in one sitting only to your TV. Commercial breaks are reminders for you to get up, pee or attend other things. 😀
    Nice post, shofar. Simple, often-neglected habit but an important reminder to focus your eyes elsewhere from time to time when using the computer, and watching TV and such.

Leave a Reply

