Fishing in the Marketplace

In Pozorubio, Philippines, Wyman and I went fishing in the marketplace with Pastor Jimmy and Pastor Roy.  We joined them in marketplace preaching which is fishing for souls to bring them the gospel of salvation.  Jesus said, in Matthew 4:19, “Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.”

This is Pastor Roy, a giant of a man who wears size 13 shoes! He loves the Lord so much for rescuing him from a wrecked and ruined life as a gang leader and drug dealer. He used to be a BAD dude; he even carried a pistol! But God in His mercy saved him from a life of wickedness and hopelessness.  Now he is a preacher of the gospel of Christ and  pastor of a small church and sometimes joins Pastor Jimmy in outdoor preaching on Saturdays, market day.Pastor Jimmy, a man with slight built is a dynamite preacher!  His style of preaching reminds me of what the Bible says in Mark 1:3 about John the Baptist, “The voice of one crying in the wilderness, Prepare ye the way of the Lord, make his paths straight.” Wyman had his turn to preach and I was next.  It was a good first time experience for me.  I opened my mouth and God filled it! Wyman will preach anywhere, any place at the drop of a hat!

We gave the pastors a break when we preached and sang. We take our ukulele everywhere we go!

This woman was very troubled whom we saw wandering in the marketplace. We prayed for her and later she was much calmer and at peace with herself.

These two women were very open to the salvation message and we prayed with them to receive Jesus into their hearts and committed them to God’s care. That is Pastor Jonathan standing on the leftt.

There were lots of fish who weren’t paying attention to us. They were nearby gambling. I hope they will be caught one day and get their lives turned around!

About Shofar/Liz

I have a Christian blogsite-'God's Enduring Love' at https://heulu.wordpress.com with 'Words of Encouragement from the Bible and Liz's Journal'. Also, an art blogsite-'Art with Aloha' at http://artwithaloha.wordpress.com 'A Journal About Art and Life. I use acrylic and oil paints, graphite pencils and pen and ink.

Posted on August 12, 2012, in Philippines Mission Work and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You guys are cool! 🙂 Esp. the past of the Pastor Roy.

    • Appreciate your view! Thanks for your comment!

      I tried to separate the two pictures but they got stuck together and I don’t know what I did wrong, but didn’t want to mess up what I had done so far. So I let it go, next time I should do better with my posting. I hope.

  1. Pingback: WHAT FAITH IN GOD IS ALL ABOUT- #2 | God's Enduring Love

Leave a Reply

