Experiencing A Whole New World By Blogging

In recent weeks I spent a good amount of time looking at blogs.  These are some of my observations:

From what I’ve seen in Facebook, it seems that most people share photos and bits of news that I don’t need to give much time or thought to.

If I were to compare FB with blogs I would say that blogging for me is like a nice, unhurried visit between friendly people at their home or mine, and FB is like a fleeting moment in time, with quick passing greetings of folks going in different directions.

The conversation on FB would be like, “Hi, nice to see you. Gotta go now,”  while with a blog it would be like, “Come on in, and sit and chat a while.”

I have found some great friendships in blogosphere to share common interests.  I learned how to make a great, ‘healthy’ open face tuna sandwich from a young man who said if you ate this sandwich you wouldn’t eat another mayo and relish sandwich again.  I agree!   And there’s a broccoli salad and veggie dishes I want to try.  I also found a few women my age with similar professional background, hobbies and other interests who already know each other through their blogs, and now they are getting acquainted with me.  There’s this one gal who is quite a photographer and captures pictures of beautiful birds and butterflies, plus everything growing in her garden.  She has inspired me to do some container gardening since I live in a condo.

Then there are travel blogs that I really like by two young Filipino men who love the Philippines where I have gone on 14 mission trips, but never saw the beautiful white sand beaches and places to explore that they have photographed, and other folks have travel blogs with photos and stories from all over the world that I enjoy so much.   I  also learned some new things like ‘bucket list’ and what the word ‘perusal’ means.  I am surely getting a lot of joy from blogging and quite an education, too.  The last blogger I met is a young teacher with a good sense of humor, so he rounds out my blogging experiences!

If I get their permission, I’ll put up their ‘links’ so you can read my favorite blogs so far.  I have to figure out how to do it.

And the last thing I want to share with you is that I have found a Christian forum with kindly people to dialogue with on serious Bible topics.  What I like about blogging and this forum is that one can have the freedom to share in a respectful and safe environment.  There are built in safeguards so that the blogger has full control over his own blog all the time, and the one blogging is expected to be sincere and respectful at all times!

Now that doesn’t sound too difficult, does it?!  So, don’t spend any more time thinking about blogging, just go ahead and get your blog site up and running!

About Shofar

Retired Teacher/Administrator, Christian missionary. Enjoy playing ukulele and guitar, oil painting, swimming and snorkeling, travel photography. Author of 'Sounding the Shofar-Exhortations for the End Times' eBook published Jan. 2012 available at Amazon.com or find it in Side Bar 'From Journal and Shofar eBook.'

Posted on July 31, 2012, in About My Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Oh, for half this post I was mentally hollering, “LINKS! LINKS!” But then I realized you think it polite to ask before linking. I can see that point of view, but most people love a bit of publicity, which drives more viewers to their site. Also, if they are truly worried about it, they can control all that on their own dashboard. Still, I appreciate your thoughtfulness! Sure would like to access the tuna sandwich site! 😉

    • Thanks for your comment, Katharine! Blogging is still new to me, but I have since found out that if I repost somebody’s post it would be okay as long as I ‘LINKED’ it back to that person who originated it. I just learned how to do a ‘short link’ from someone who was explaining it to somebody else!

      I still get a little confused when I see ‘follow’ or ‘following’ and have to ask myself who is following who(m)?

      I ate a tuna sandwich using olive oil today, no mayo or vegenaise and instead of slicing the veggies (tomato, onion, cucumber), I diced everything up. To be on the safe side, I laid a leaf of lettuce, put the filling and put another lettuce leaf over the top so when I ate it, none of the filling fell out! It was good! I hope I can find that site again because I don’t think I clicked ‘follow’. I’ll let you know if I find that handsome young man who lost a great deal of weight since he started eating and cooking healthy!

Leave a Reply

