My Testimony and An Amazing Story!

These testimonies were shared on Feb 27, 29, and Mar 1, 2012 with my Facebook Group, ‘Sounding the Shofar’ as part of the unpublished manuscript for ‘Sounding the Shofar- The Enemy in Our Midst’.

AN AMAZING STORY ABOUT OUR MIGHTY GOD!

In 1972, after moving into a newly-built and beautiful home with my husband and young family, something was still missing in my life. After reading a news story about a former stripper converting to the Christian faith, I decided to go to hear her testimony at a Waikiki hotel. I couldn’t remember much of what was said because I was overcome with her story. But I remember her musician husband singing a song about how they lived their lives so close to hell that they could smell the sulphur fumes!  That brought me under immense conviction of getting myself right with God and seeking the Holy Spirit in my life.  In the Philippines and recently in Malaysia I gave my brief testimony of how a former stripper was the one who pointed me to the Lord, me, a mother of three young children then, who never got into any real trouble in my whole life! But I was a sinner, too, who needed to be saved!

I vaguely recall driving pass ‘The Strip’ on the old airport road where there were burlesque and topless dancers who performed in shows at places like ‘Forbidden City’ where Tara was billed as a ‘stripper’. Several weeks ago I did a Goggle search on her, wondering what became of this beautiful, remarkable woman. When I got home from my mission trip last Thursday, the book I ordered about her story was waiting for me, a very ‘old’ book written 35 years ago.  I found it for $.01 plus $3.99 shipping from Amazon.com! The sordid details of Jimmy and Judy Mamou’s lives told how entertainment, money, sex, and drugs drove them to their near destruction.  Jimmy was the one saved first when one day he was stoned and very sick from ‘bad’ drugs. With his dying breaths he called Judy to get him the Gideon Bible they had stolen from a motel. He managed to read Acts 2:21, “Whoever calls upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.” He slept for a long time and moving his lips, Judy heard him whisper, “What do you want me to do?” God was speaking to Jimmy who recovered and experienced a complete change in his life, was immediately delivered from drugs. Jimmy began to seek God in his walks on the beach and read his Bible every chance he had between his job as a musician.

GOD’S SAVING GRACE

Jimmy Mamou changed when God gave him back his life with the promise that he, Jimmy, would live for Him. He threw out all his dope, stopped using profanity, came home from work on time, and was kind and loving to Judy. Judy was both impressed and skeptical about Jimmy’s behavior. She was still turning tricks and was mean to Jimmy, until that one day in July 1971. She picked up Jimmy’s Bible and began to read where it opened to the place about the woman taken in adultery in John 8, and how Jesus said, “Neither do I condemn you. Go and sin no more.” She realized that Jesus loved her and had already forgiven her, speaking to her from the gospel of John. Judy opened up her heart to God and asked Jesus to come in! She was born again and filled with the Holy Spirit! She was able to forgive her abusive mother and her stepfather who molested her up until her early teens when she left home for a life of prostitution, drugs, marijuana and pills, and notoriety- as a stripper and topless snake dancer.

SAVED AND CALLED TO SERVE

Besides drugs, Judy’s prostitution and strip dancing, the troubled lives of the Mamou’s included adultery, bouts with alcoholism, Judy’s abortion and finally a suicide attempt. Judy called herself,“The Other Woman” in her book that describes her life before she became born-again into the family of God, after Jimmy got saved that summer of 1971. God in His mercy delivered and saved both of them from their destructive lives when they reached the end of themselves. They both had their encounter with God and experienced the cleansing power of His love and as it says in 1Peter 1:8,

“Whom having not seen, ye love; in whom, though now ye see him not, yet believing, ye rejoice with joy unspeakable and full of glory:”

They began reading the Bible, praying and walking on the beach together. Jimmy quit his job as a rock musician and began playing music at a dinner club. He sang secular tunes with religious lyrics he composed, and he passed out Bibles to his audience! They started going to church, sharing the good news of their salvation with their friends; Judy was invited to share her testimony, the first of many times beginning in their church; Jimmy shared the gospel on KAIM radio twice a week for two years. God led them to reach out to prostitutes, pimps, drug addicts, alcoholics, the downtrodden in prisons, skid row districts, half way houses; “they also spoke in hospitals, colleges, churches and Christian meetings- wherever they were led.” God called them into full time ministry and they have been speakers in crusades and revival meetings in Hawaii, California, Korea and other parts of the world. I thank God for leading me to hear about Judy’s licentious life and profound conversion, for by July 1972 God began to do His mighty work in my and Wyman’s life (friends and relatives also shared their Christian faith with us) and both of us were saved and miraculously filled with the Holy Spirit!

About Shofar/Liz

I have a Christian blogsite-'God's Enduring Love' at https://heulu.wordpress.com with 'Words of Encouragement from the Bible and Liz's Journal'. Also, an art blogsite-'Art with Aloha' at http://artwithaloha.wordpress.com 'A Journal About Art and Life. I use acrylic and oil paints, graphite pencils and pen and ink.

Posted on July 27, 2012, in About Me And My Family, Sounding the Shofar eBook and Related Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. that was a remarkable testimony. i’m glad God Saved her from the effects of the horrible abuse she suffered as a child

  2. seamistandmagnolias

    What a beautiful testimony…the power of Jesus to save and to heal broken lives never ceases to amaze me!

    • Thank you for reading the testimonies of God’s loving kindness and tender mercies to all who open their hearts to Him!

  3. Thank you for sharing your and Wyman’s testimonies and that of Judy & Jimmy Mamou.
    I heard about them but I did not know the details.

    • You’re welcome, Norma! Last I heard from searching for them on the web, is that they may be living in Texas now and still active Christians!

  4. Beautiful piece, Liz. It’s amazing sometimes the irony of the areas if how or where we pulled our strength from after our ‘down’ moments. Inspiration arrives even if we don’t invite it. Certainly faith is a great ‘motivator’ for better life. God works in mysterious ways as thry say.

    • And as nature lovers we see the handiwork of God in His creation and praise Him for it. God’s wisdom and knowledge is also reflected in man’s architecture that you post, for He has gifted us with creativity as well. Read Psalm 148 about Creation praising God.
      Blessings,
      Liz

  5. Thank you for sharing! Lord bless.

  6. Amazing!! We all need saving just as much as the person next to us!

    • AMEN! I was just listening to Keith Green’s song again about the devil. It is unbelievable that that our WordPress glitch with our gravatars is taking 3+ weeks so far to untangle. But thank the Lord we’re still able to blog! I rebuke Satan, in Jesus’ name!

      • I have to say I’ve been facing many whispers and tricks in my mind lately from our enemy…trying to get me back into old ways of thinking or to think that I’ll never overcome certain challenges (things like body image, a quick temper, bitterness). I am thankful for posts like this one, for daily bible reading, for songs of praise, for prayer, and for an encouraging/prayerful husband and friends/family! Let us remember our armor!!

      • YES! It’s so important for us to ENCOURAGE one another! Besides covering ourselves with the BLOOD of Jesus every day, we need to pray specifically these words Jesus taught his disciples: “lead us not into temptation, but DELIVER US FROM EVIL…” An important part the armour is the SWORD, the Word of God. We have to know the Word and stand on it! PTL!

      • Thank you! Your replies in themselves have been encouraging! A night after writing what I feel like is my boldest post, I just published it here and on my FB page…wondering what the fall-out will be, and just how many people will read it at all! My heart is aching for so many!

  7. I never get tired of hearing how God rescues people from near destruction. Thanks for sharing it!

  8. There is no darkness that cant be subdued by the light; and no road whose end is dead.
    The Lord offers light and life, and provides the WAY.

    Great reminder of inspiration.

    • The greatest testimony is not in words, but in a transformed life. When I heard Judy’s testimony and Jimmy’s singing, I began to seek GOD for what they had. ‘Praise the LORD; for the LORD is good: sing praises unto his name; for it is pleasant.’ Ps 135:3

      • Liz-
        Just a reminder. Not all come from backgrounds of drugs, adultery, prostitution, etc, yet have equal or more powerful testimonies. But folks like this who have had ‘harder’ lives reach people that others cannot.

        Think of the lowly farm boy, who has never been trapped in ‘city life,’ yet, who by a faithful father, friend, or whoever, becomes a flaming evangelist.

        The greatest testimony CAN be in words also. Think of Saul of Tarsus, probably the most outstanding example of grace. He by his own account, would have been far more ‘worse,’ than the most egregious street sinner you could think of.

        In my opinion, a man without the baggage of the flesh is harder to reach; again consider Paul:

        According to the law-blameless. His conversion was not one of seeing transformed lives (that would come later) but of HEARING God’s word.

        Personally, i prefer testimonies that speak of man’s conversion from cults, poor teaching, works religion, and how ‘words,’ specifically, words from God, brought sinners from darkness to light.

        It is ultimately by the word of truth, the word of the gospel, the word of faith, the pure word of God, the washing of water by the word, that people can find repose.

        But that’s what is necessary in the body of Christ; each having a part like spokes on a wheel, none better, none worse, just different. Still a good tale of darkness to light, and I am glad it had a strong influence on you.
        jack

      • Thank you, JACK, for your good words. Saul had everything, a self righteous, religious and scholarly type, one of a kind man, but needed to have his own personal encounter with Jesus. He had to be knocked off his ass to be humbled so he could begin to submit to God’s will and plan and purpose for his life.

        I believe it takes hearing God’s Word and/or seeing the witness of someone’s life to bring conviction to many tough nuts, especially.

        Signs and miracles in the name of Jesus also bring people to the Lord.

        I met 2 ministers who told of their conversion. Both were unbelievers lost in darkness and sin, but each one separately got critically ill one on his death bed and the other was losing her sight. They called out to God for help, received a visitation from God, heard His reassuring voice and each promised to serve God. I heard about their miraculous healings and they now pastor churches.

        What is so great is that God knows just what it will take to reach us; He gives many of us a lot of slack and unfortunately some resist Him until they’re backed into a corner and call “Help!” Yet sadly, some will go out into eternity not having ever accepted Jesus as their Savior; they will die in their sins.

        I love our dialogues. God bless you dear brother!
        ~Liz

      • Oops, forgot to add (since i know you like music) a song by a woman who has a testimony using words only; a quadrapalegic- surely u know Joni. E. Tada.

        If you haven’t heard or saw this, please take the time, and the sweeter the sound is proportionate to knowing her background, not of drugs, but of rebellion, disdain toward God, so much so, that she had suicidal thoughts.

        I’m not sure there is a song currently out and about that is so darn heavenly.
        She can reach people that we cannot.

        http://thenakedtruth2.wordpress.com/2014/01/20/a-rare-oscar-nod-joni/

        Please follow the instructions for maximum effect, then open the player to full screen. Bet you need a kleenex.

      • I knew about Joni from many years ago. Your link helped me catch up on her life and how she and her husband faithfully encourage the body of Christ and are a witness to the world.

        There’s a guy who has a tremendous ministry. He has no arms and a ‘chicken foot’. Can’t think of his name off hand.
        He’s an amazing man of an AMAZING GOD!

  9. Jimmy Mamou is my brother and Judy is my absolutely gorgeous sister-in-law. I just happened to Google their names to search for their current location and came across this. What a powerful, spell-bound, and heart-reaching testimony. Jimmy had told me a little about his struggle with drugs and how he made a promise to follow God if he was given another chance to live. I am so proud of the both of them and I love them dearly.

    • ☺️. Shirley, I’m so sorry that I missed seeing your comment! I’m so dumb about blogging that I haven’t often checked COMMENTS on the administrative page! I have an old book of Judy’s testimony which filled in the parts I wrote about her and Jimmy! Thanks so much for your posting here!

  10. Hallelujah! Such a beautiful post about God’s perfect redemption! I too was led (back) to the Lord on a day I was suicidal and without hope. I cried out to God and told Him I believed in Him, but who was Jesus? Within minutes, a knock at the door. I was in a stranger’s apartment, having spent the night (I passed out) and was alone. I peeked thru the peep whole and two shining angels asked, “Have you thought about Jesus today?” One was a forgiven prostitute and her partner was the daughter of a famous evangelist from Canada. Both were 17 and I was just turning 21. Thank you Jesus!!!! I became born again on June 4, 1974. A day I will never forget…..

Leave a Reply

