Ten Year Old Models Wedding Gown

Our grand daughter wearing my bridal gown I wore when I got married to 1st Lt Wyman Au, United States Air Force, at Sacred Hearts Church in Honolulu, Hawaii.

This is our youngest grand daughter modeling my wedding gown that I wore on July 15, 1962, 50 years ago. She fits into the waist, but the top is a little big. I was 15 lbs. lighter than I am now. We pulled the gown out from my old trunk where it sat with my wedding memorabilia and old photo albums. Fifty years married to the same man seems like a lifetime (it is!), but I remember clearly how we met when I was 17 going on 18, and he was 19 going on 20. I was a freshman and he was a junior. My parents sent me to the state university “to meet a refined young man” and Wyman was the best I could find! We met in the elevator in the Sinclair Library, going up to the 3rd floor to study. Didn’t do much studying that day!

We got married after I graduated from the university with a teaching degree, and Wyman was a 1st Lt. in the U.S. Air Force by then. There were 630 people at our wedding reception at the famous landmark Waikiki Lau Yee Chai; $38.50/table of 10 for a Chinese 9 course dinner, total cost about $2500. The cost for one table would be the minimum cost for one guest today, 10 times more than it was in 1962! A long strand of 10,000 fireworks was lit before dinner was served. There was also a bottle of Scotch whiskey on each table. After toasting each course as they came, many of the guests became pretty high!

The Lord brought Wyman and I together that day at the library, and blessed us with 3 children and 7 grand children!

About Shofar/Liz

I have a Christian blogsite-'God's Enduring Love' at https://heulu.wordpress.com with 'Words of Encouragement from the Bible and Liz's Journal'. Also, an art blogsite-'Art with Aloha' at http://artwithaloha.wordpress.com 'A Journal About Art and Life. I use acrylic and oil paints, graphite pencils and pen and ink.

Posted on July 15, 2012, in About Me And My Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. When the Lord brings 2 people together…it always works-if those 2 people stay in God’s will and work at it! Sounds like you had a wonderful marriage. Congratulations!!

    • What you said is so true! A marriage works if we WORK AT IT! It takes real effort which unfortunately many won’t put out and will ditch a marriage instead. It was not easy the first 10 years when we were not in the Lord. At least after that we had His help with the ups and downs! Thank you for the congratulations!

  2. What a beautiful story and a beautiful dress!! What a grand affair your wedding was!

    • Thank you for viewing this post! Our anniversary party was a small family celebration in comparison, but very special as well! My sister and her husband and all the grandchildren had songs and dances prepared for the event!

  3. Reblogged this on God's Enduring Love and commented:

    Would you believe that it’s been a YEAR AGO since I posted this? TODAY IS MY ANNIVERSARY AGAIN! We plan to act like tourists and park our car at the mega mall and ride out to Waikiki to have lunch at a ‘surprise’ restaurant’! I don’t know where we’re going, but it will be one less meal to prepare today! Just imagine 51 years with the same man!!!

  4. Congratulations. She looks lovely, and your dress has survived! I am doing lots of writing now too. http://endtimechaverim.wordpress.com/2013/07/16/ode-to-kim-a-story-of-racial-healing/

  5. What a special story to share with people. I hope your story is an encouragement to many. God bless you and your husband… ♥

  6. Congratulations to you and Wyman on your 50 wedding anniversaryI What a lovely love story!

    • Norma, can you imagine two 10 year old granddaughters trying on my gown?! It was custom designed by a woman who worked for Mildred’s Bridal Shop on King St. $350 at that time was a LOT of money, but $4.00 a person for dinner at Waikiki Lau Yee Chai compared to $40/person today for a Chinese banquet, we would have to forego the reception!

Leave a Reply

