This World Is Not My Home

The answer to my elderly neighbor who asked me why we were moving out from our community was, “We’re going to do mission work.”  We had lived a few doors away in a custom designed split-level, hillside dream home where we raised our children.  From our front windows we had a panoramic view of the  extinct volcano crater that had a beautiful lake and golf course.  Our home was in a suburb nestled away, but close enough to the city of Honolulu.

We had lived in the split level house in the front of our large property and then extended the back of our home with a two story addition for our son’s family.  We had completely remodeled our kitchen with a built-in Corian sink and counter tops, new cabinets with slide drawers and corner lazy susan,  built in convection-microwave oven, new gas range and ceramic tile floor- an ideal kitchen for any homemaker.  After a few years, our son and his family decided to move closer to town. I was already retired from teaching, and Wyman was soon to retire as a meteorologist for the National Weather Service.   We were free to answer the call to the mission field, but the house tied us down.  It didn’t make sense for two people to live in a tri-level 9 bedroom with 5 1/2 bathrooms home. When we left on a mission trip, we needed someone to take care of our home, house sit, pet sit, take care of the yard, water the house plants, secure the home, etc., etc.

In 2001 after our second trip, the Lord said, “Sell your home.”  That took some serious consideration and we waited for confirmation from God.  Then things began falling into place when a good friend recommended a realtor to us.  By the following year, in 2002 , our home was put on the market.  After 8 months and waiting for the right party to purchase our large home, it was finally sold to two sisters with their families, mother, and family friend.  All told, there was space enough for over a dozen people to live there!  As for us, we found a comfortable two bedroom condominium in the city with fine amenities and 24/7 security so that we could just close the door and leave whenever we needed to!

When a good friend came to visit me after we moved,  she asked a similar question as my former neighbor, “Why did you sell your home to come live in a condo?”  I explained to her, “This is only my temporary home, anyway.  My real home is in heaven.”  In the Bible, Hebrews 11:13 and l Peter 2:11 tell us that we are ‘strangers and pilgrims on the earth’.  There is a old song that goes like this:  “This world is not my home, I’m just a passing through, my treasures are laid up somewhere beyond the blue. . .”  

In John 14:1-3, Jesus said before he went away, “Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me.  In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you.  I go to prepare a place for you.  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.”

About Shofar/Liz

I have a Christian blogsite-'God's Enduring Love' at https://heulu.wordpress.com with 'Words of Encouragement from the Bible and Liz's Journal'. Also, an art blogsite-'Art with Aloha' at http://artwithaloha.wordpress.com 'A Journal About Art and Life. I use acrylic and oil paints, graphite pencils and pen and ink.

Posted on June 19, 2012, in About Me And My Family, Hearing From God And His Word, Philippines Mission Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

