Who Else Is Coming for Lunch?

Kids, Grandkids and Summer

So what does this have to do with ‘God’s Enduring Love’?  I will have to say, “Everything!”  It takes the love of God, His Grace, when our 3 children with their spouses and my 7 grandchildren, pop in on my husband and me without much advance notice- for meals!   They must think Mom will have food at her house!

Take this week as an example.  My youngest daughter is in town and calls, asking, “Can we stop by for lunch?”  I ask, “How soon?”  She says, “In five minutes.”  My condo is in the city which makes it a convenient stopover location. So, I was ready to prepare lunch anyway.  Her two children want mac and cheese (Kraft kind); that was easy; she will eat fried rice with her dad.  A few minutes later, my son-in-law comes by with his two girls.  One will eat mac and cheese, the other wants a tuna sandwich with onions.  Her dad says he’ll go home to eat, but later decides to eat a sandwich, too, even though he’d rather have regular mayonnaise instead of vegenaise.  (I’m a vegetarian.)  Did you know that a can of tuna can only make 2 sandwiches now?  When I was young I swear a can of tuna made sandwiches for a whole regular loaf of bread!   I know, the can was bigger!  So I had to open another can of tuna for the grand daughter who wanted both mac and cheese and a sandwich!  And of course, lunch must have juice and iced tea, plus chips. . .

My son and his family gave me an hour notice and invited themselves over for lunch early this week.  They were cleaning their yard and garage and were too tired to fix their own lunch.  I quickly took veggie burgers out of the freezer, got salad vegetables out.  I fried the burgers and they made their own sandwiches and helped themselves.  Then my son tells me that he liked the grillers from the Seventh Day Adventist store better!  Next time I should ask.  He’s a vegan.

Today, a grandchild was dropped off with her friend while her dad took the other child to volleyball practice.  So my husband and I took turns watching them at the pool so we could stagger our lunches.  Just got a call that they will be picked up an hour and a half later than planned.

Now I am really blessed!  All of my children and grand children live within 15 minutes of my home.  My middle sister has to go to California to visit her 4 grandchildren!  My youngest sister lives on another island and has one grandchild here.  Well, they are missing out on a lot of the kind of family time I am fortunate to have!  Yes, God’s Enduring Love will be with us each day to be the kind of people He wants us to be-  loving , kind, patient, long-suffering and should I add- energetic and tireless?!

About Shofar/Liz

I have a Christian blogsite-'God's Enduring Love' at https://heulu.wordpress.com with 'Words of Encouragement from the Bible and Liz's Journal'. Also, an art blogsite-'Art with Aloha' at http://artwithaloha.wordpress.com 'A Journal About Art and Life. I use acrylic and oil paints, graphite pencils and pen and ink.

Posted on June 7, 2012, in Enduring Love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Excellent post; reads like a very nice newspaper article.

    Did you ever wonder what is News that go into a newspaper? It is anything that is printed in the newspaper- that is News! You may see a picture of a man flying a kite with his young son, or some kind of pretty flowers. That is News- whatever you find in a newspaper. Also I was told long ago, only to believe two things in a newspaper- the comics, & the cartoons- HaHa!

  2. I guess you must be thinking of local news, feature story. There’s a lot of real news in the newspaper. I know you’re pulling my leg about the comics and cartoons bit! Thanks for your comment!

  3. haha….for the record….yr youngest daughter gives me 5 min notice before coming to my house ….altho, she doesn’t ask to be fed…my house is a revolving door…neighbors’ kids and friends are here all the time, I’ve given up trying to make the house look neat bec i don’t get notice. Thank god for the couch on the patio behind in case they show up before I get home….

  4. Thanks for checking out my blog, Lynnie! Even after the children are gone, you find remnants of them having been here- things they’ve forgotten, wet swim suits, etc. Then it’s quiet and we wonder when they’ll visit again!

  5. I LOVE that kind of commotion at my house, but my husband, who cannot hear well, does not. He likes one person at a time, but realizes that is unreasonable. 🙂
    Our oldest son used to work about 5 minutes from our house and sometimes would call and ask if he could come home for lunch. (His home and wife were 30 minutes from him.)
    EVERY time he called, the menu just happened to be: grilled cheese sandwiches and homemade tomato soup. Every time.
    It got to be a joke at our house. If we were having that menu, his younger siblings and I would say that the phone will ring, soon.
    Often, it did.

    Every Thanksgiving, all five of our kids and their spouses and children converge upon us for a weekend of family togetherness. I LOVE this time. Each woman has a signature dish she brings and that becomes part of our tradition. We have grand times of games and eating and all the cousins get to enjoy each other on our country acreage, climbing trees, finding cats, sleeping together, and tanking up on pumpkin pie. Big noises and tender little moments of family ecstacy. Mmm.

Leave a Reply

